Portfolio 6: Lines and circles

24 09 2013

As I walked along on the Lunenburg water front on a calm still Sunday morning, I came across this little yellow sailing boat next to a large working ship. As I moved a bit further along the dock to get into a better position to view the reflections, the yellow stood out in stark contrast with the blue and red reflections mirrored in the water. Keeping in with my theme of creating abstract images, I zoomed close, focusing on the colours and patterns, which seems to give this image a sense of abstract reality. What is floating in what? As I paused by this scene, I realized that the round buoys were creating their own elliptical reflections contrasting with the portholes and the painted circle on the ship (which I think indicates the location of the thruster below the waterline).  The slightly askew vertical mast (and its reflection) helps to tie together the multiple horizontal lines in the calm image.

A yellow sailboat floating in the reflection of a large neighbouring ship

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

