Breaking out of Project 52 Doldrums II: Getting out of the corner

30 03 2011

Yesterday, I explained that I was struggling with my photography. I didn’t even want to look at my camera on some days, which is very unlike me, as I usually enjoy experimenting and capturing quirky images.  As a result of my disinclination, I have fallen behind on Project 52. This week, I am trying to break free from the doldrums by drawing inspiration from other people who chose to communicate in public venues.

Today’s image is from Kingston, Ontario.  I do not take images of graffiti tagging for a number of reasons. So why did I take this one? This was in early January late at night, when I was rushing to my car parked downtown.  This scene caught the corner of my eye, and I had to stop and see what compelled me so.  The lonely yet brash tag contrasting with the additional out-of-boredom doodles of decorative painting around the electric box and vent was a bit surreal. The whole security-lit scene by the firmly-locked steel door seemed to speak volumes.  Are we communicating with each other?

Kingston tag and doodles

(Project 52 No. 13)

Actions

Information

One response

31 03 2011
Breaking out of Project 52 doldrums III – time and colour « Ecogirl & Cosmoboy's Blog

[…] focused on street art as a way to be inspired by public expression in such a visual medium and to start thinking of photography as a creative outlet […]

Leave a Reply

