Project 52 No 15. Weeping angel with a rose

8 03 2011

On my very last day in Argentina, I had an overnight stopover in Buenos Aires before catching my flight home to Canada.  I was fortunate to find a good deal for a hotel room in one of my favourite CF regions – Recoleta.  It is one of the most expensive neighbourhoods in the city, but is full of art, green spaces and little shops. That made it perfect for relaxed exploring while I was waiting for my flight.  I spent my morning at the Recoleta Cemetery, which feels like a set straight out of a Hollywood movie, full of amazing monuments, wonderful sculptures, broken-down tombs, prowling cats and during my visit, a parade of mourners.  While I was exploring one of the little alleys in the Cemetery, the mourners were leaving, and one of them placed her wilting rose on a statue.  The resulting image was so compelling I took this photograph as soon as I could respectfully do so.

Recoleta Weeping Stone Angel with a wilting rose

While this sentimental image is not my typical of my photography, I really like the emotion it conveys. The powerful punch of the deep red rose wilting in the angel’s arms is counterbalanced by the blue sky in the upper right.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

