Project 52

20 06 2010

Last Christmas, I received a Canon G11 from Cosmoboy.  It was exactly the camera I needed, and from the moment I got the camera in my hands on Christmas morning, I’ve been inspired to take photographs every day.

I’ve not felt this way since my Pentax SLR when I was 18 (still functioning!). The same way that I discovered the pros and cons of film years ago, I’ve been noticing a great improvement in my digital photographs as I experiment and play with the Canon. It’s unleashed freedom in my creativity and now I never go anywhere without my little G11.

A few weeks ago, a friend told me about the 365 project, when someone equally inspired began to post a photograph every day in 2002.   That is an awesome idea which has just taken wings on the internet.

So I’m going to start my own “Project 52”.  A photograph from my G11 every week, starting last week when we were by the Bay of Fundy.

The very first photograph for this series is of a gorgeous golden beetle I found in the backyard of our rented cottage, about the size of third of my index finger. It behaved very strangely when I first came across it perched precariously on a big swaying daisy. Unlike most large beetles I’ve encountered, it did not scurry away, but stubbornly clung onto the daisy even when I approached very closely.

The flat light on that overcast evening meant I couldn’t capture the golden glints off its hairy shell so the photograph didn’t turn out too well. The next morning, first thing I did was to head out and see if it was still on the daisy. It was! In fact, it was on that daisy for nearly three days, so I was able to photograph it in the morning sun on the third day. The next day, it was gone.

Not sure what it was doing hanging onto this flower for so long, and it was a wonder a bird did not swoop by and take up such a morsel of an easy meal. I can only guess it probably tastes very bad.

Flower Long Horn Beetle on a Daisy

What was this coleopteran doing?  After some taxonomic cross-checking, I think that this beetle is appropriately labelled under the Flower Longhorn Beetles (I think it is subfamily Lepturinae, although this needs to be confirmed.)

1 down, 51 fun pics to go!

Actions

Information

One response

20 06 2010
Tweets that mention Project 52 « Ecogirl & Cosmoboy's Blog -- Topsy.com

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Rob Thacker, Linda Campbell. Linda Campbell said: With a gorgeous golden beetle on a swaying daisy, Project 52 starts. #ecogirlcosmoboy http://bit.ly/diBdVw […]

Leave a Reply

